The Top 10 Quotes From A Wise Billionaire

InsightfulEngineer
2 min readAug 31, 2023

--

As a businessman, investor, and philanthropist, I admire the wisdom of Charlie Munger. Charlie Munger has a multidisciplinary mind that has a highly influential impact on the world. In this article, I want to share some of his ideas that I found quite inspiring.

  1. “ You are not learning anything if you are not making mistakes.”
  2. “ Just because you like it doesn’t mean the world will necessarily give it to you.”
  3. “I constantly see people rise in life who are not the smartest, sometimes not even the most diligent, but they are learning machines. They go to bed every night a little wiser than they were when they got up and boy does that help, particularly when you have a long run ahead of you.”
  4. “I try to get rid of people who always confidently answer questions about which they don’t have any real knowledge.”
  5. “I believe in the discipline of mastering the best that other people have ever figured out. I don’t believe in just sitting down and trying to dream it all up yourself. Nobody’s that smart.”
  6. “The best thing a human being can do is to help another human being know more.”
  7. “If you skillfully follow the multidisciplinary path, you will never wish to come back. It would be like cutting off your hands.”
  8. “I paid no attention to the territorial boundaries of academic disciplines and I just grabbed all the big ideas that I could.”
  9. “Take a simple idea, and take it seriously.”
  10. “The big money is not in the buying and the selling, but in the waiting.”

Here, I want to share one of my thoughts:

Life is not long enough to constantly learn from your own mistakes. I think everyone should benefit from others’ ideas and experiences. You can think of it as a shortcut in life on the way to success. As a return to this thought, I am trying to follow influential people who have a lot of valuable experiences and learn from their experiences and mistakes, too.

--

--

InsightfulEngineer

Curious about the world, Eager to learn, Industrial Engineering student, Explorer, Reader and Writer